Starting 2014 as I mean to go on!!

Well in 2013 I set up a blog and planned to add to it at fairly regular intervals, oh how that failed!!  It was meant to be a record for myself of things I had achieved and also to link with other creative types who I gain inspiration from and who’s blogs have provided me with great advice.   So I am going to try again to post regularly and to start the new year off I though t I would share a few photo’s of projects I completed in 2013.

 

IMG_0326

First up is the top I made from some beautiful liberty fabric I found in Grace & Jacob in York.  It is a Pattern from the Great British Sewing Bee book and I do love it , so I think this may be one for a few more makes in 2014!

image

Next up was a quilt I made for a friends newborn…she is now nearing 9 months old, I was so chuffed with it as it was my first real quilt and a huge learning curve.  I haven’t attempted another quilt until now!!  From some of the left over fabric I also made a beautiful shirred dress for her, with some lovely buttons I got free on the front of Mollie Makes many moons ago!IMG_0299

Throughout the year we have also been decorating our lounge, pulling out the old fireplace and painting floorboards, It has been quite a cathartic process and has ended up with us having a beautiful light airy space in which to add our own little collection of things.  It also lead to e decoupaging a set of tables, a new skill and one I thoroughly enjoyed.

 

IMG_0408IMG_1033

 

The year has ended with me picking up the knitting needles and making mug cosies, initially as presents and then as potential sale items – a path I have considered following for a while but who knows when I may pluck up courage to do so.  I have also completed a cross stitch for my son’s room. I wanted to do one when he was first born, as I hard done for darling daughter.  However time and life got in the way, but it was completed in time for his 4th Birthday, following a pattern from Sand, Sea and Cross Stitch.  I just need to get it framed now, let’s hope that doesn’t take another 4 years to do!!

 

IMG_1621IMG_1775

 

So what for 2014…. well I have just opened up a half jelly roll and am hoping to complete a small lap quilt…and I and hoping beyond hope that I may finish a hand pieced quilt for my mum in time for her 65th in June!! I have finished all the hexagon flowers and am in the process of working out how to piece it together!!

IMG_1742

As you can see I’m not always  one for following pattern, am a bit more of a see how things go.  I am planning on trying new skills and pushing my boundaries when it comes to sewing, both in terms of dressmaking and quilting, a true novice at both.  But I am also open to going with the flow and seeing where things take me.  So her is to a happy new year to everyone and hopefully I will be posting again soon. I also think I need to brush up on my photo skills!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Starting 2014 as I mean to go on!!

  1. yay – how lovely to see all your wonderful 2013 creations here…… Looking forward to sharing some of your ideas and makes in 2014 xx

Leave a Reply

